Assigning a Different Role to a Current RDS Secure Website User

The RDS Secure Website allows an individual to act in only one role at a time. If a Plan Sponsor wishes to assign a different role to a current user, it should keep the following things in mind:

  • The Account Manager and Authorized Representative roles are assigned at the Plan Sponsor level. The Plan Sponsor must maintain an active and current Account Manager and Authorized Representative on the Plan Sponsor account to participate in the RDS Program. These roles may be reassigned to other individuals by the existing Account Manager and Authorized Representative. The new Account Manager or Authorized Representative has responsibilities for all applications associated with the Plan Sponsor.

    For instructions on changing the Account Manager and Authorized Representative roles, refer to Reassign the Account Manager and Authorized Representative Roles in the RDS User Guide.

  • A user terminated from a previous role may be reassigned as the Account Manager or Authorized Representative, as long as that user's previous user role has been terminated from all Plan Sponsors that he/she is associated with. Allow one day after the user's termination date before assigning the user the new role.
  • The Designee role is assigned at the application level. If assigning a Designee to a different role, an Account Manager or Authorized Representative must first delete the user from all applications that he/she is associated with. Refer to Delete a Designee in the RDS User Guide for instructions. One day after the user is terminated from all applications, that user may be invited to register for his/her new role. For information on assigning a Designee, refer to Assign a Designee.