Skip to main content

CMS' RDS Center will be performing system maintenance on the RDS Secure Website on Friday, April 19, 2024 beginning at 9:00PM ET and concluding Saturday, April 20, 2024 at 10:00AM ET. The Secure Website will be available, but file processing will be impacted. Refer to this Announcement for details.

Cancel a Pending User Role Reassignment

User Roles:

AM

AR

Program Components:

User Management

Overview

This section provides an overview of cancelling a pending user role reassignment.

User Management is the responsibility of the Plan Sponsor. For data integrity and security purposes, CMS’ RDS Center does not alter registered user information or role assignments on the Plan Sponsor’s behalf.

An Account Manager or Authorized Representative user role reassignment can be cancelled while it is still pending, as long as the role reassignment effective date has not yet passed.

IMPORTANT: Account Manager (AM) and Authorized Representative (AR) reassignments do not take effect immediately. Please complete all reassignments well ahead of Application and Reconciliation deadlines to ensure smooth transition. A newly appointed AM or AR can be granted access to the RDS Secure Website (SWS) on the same day that the role reassignment is performed. However, that person will not have access to the Plan Sponsor account itself, or any associated applications, until after the termination date of the previous AM/AR has passed. This means the new user cannot view or modify any information for that Plan Sponsor until at least the next day. When reassigning these roles, please remember:

  • New AMs & ARs cannot access the Plan Sponsor account on the same day the role is reassigned. 
  • Registration for a user account does not guarantee same day access.
  • Termination Dates cannot be in the past.
  • Reassigning a Designee or Actuary to an AM or AR role takes multiple days to complete.
  • The AR role has critical functions that only they can perform.
  • CMS’ RDS Center does not have a Call Center.

These major concepts are explained in detail in the Reassigning the Authorized Representative (AR) and Account Manager (AM) Roles Technical Article. Please review this material and plan ahead for your Application and Reconciliation Deadlines. Failure to do so may result in a missed deadline and possible loss of subsidy. Refer to Reassign the Account Manager and Authorized Representative Roles for additional important information.

For information on changing Actuary user role assignments, refer to Manage the Actuary Role.

For information on changing Designee user role assignments, refer to Manage the Designee Role.

Step-by-Step Instructions

This section provides step-by-step instructions to cancel a pending Account Manager or Authorized Representative user role reassignment.

To access the RDS Secure Website, and navigate to the Dashboard page, review instructions to access the RDS Secure Website.

On the Dashboard page:

  1. Select Manage Plan Sponsor.

    Dashboard page with sample data. Manage Plan Sponsor is highlighted in top nav.

On the Manage Plan Sponsor Account page:

  1. The Plan Sponsor List table displays all Plan Sponsors to which you are assigned. Select Reassign Account Manager or Authorized Representative from the Actions column for the Plan Sponsor for which you want to cancel a role reassignment and select Go.

    Manage Plan Sponsor Account page with sample data. Actions dropdown menu selection and Go button are highlighted.

On the Reassign Account Manager or Authorized Representative page:

  1. The Pending User Role Reassignment table displays all user role reassignments that are currently pending for the plan sponsor. If you do not wish to reassign the role to the individual identified in the New User column, select Cancel in the Actions column of the Pending User Role Reassignment table.

    Reassign Account Manager or Authorized Representative page with sample data. Cancel link is highlighted.

On the Warning: Cancel Reassignment pop-up:

  1. Select Yes to proceed with cancellation or select No to abandon the cancellation and return to the Reassign Account Manager or Authorized Representative page.

    Warning: Cancel Reassignment pop-up with Yes button highlighted.

On the Reassign Account Manager or Authorized Representative page:

  1. The Pending User Role Reassignment table refreshes to remove the cancelled user role reassignment and a Success Message displays stating that the pending reassignment has been cancelled.

    Reassign Account Manager or Authorized Representative page with Success message and sample data. Pending User Role Reassignment table is highlighted.

Return to top

Page last updated: